Primate and new world monkeys

The order Primates, with its or more species, is the third most diverse order of mammals, after rodents Rodentia and bats Chiroptera. Although there are some notable variations between some primate groups, they share several Old World monkeys versus New World monkeys Monkeys are arranged into two main groups: Old World and New World. As their taxonomic names suggest, New World platyrrhine and Old World catarrhine monkeys are distinguished by the form of the nose.

Primate and new world monkeys

Primate - New World Encyclopedia

Characteristics[ edit ] Old World monkeys are medium to large in size, and range from arboreal forms, such as the colobus monkeysto fully terrestrial forms, such as the baboons. Technically, the distinction of catarrhines from platyrrhines depends on the structure of the nose, and the distinction of Old World monkeys from apes depends on dentition the number of teeth is the same in both, but they are shaped differently.

Primate and new world monkeys

In platyrrhines, the nostrils face sideways, while in catarrhines, they face downward. Other distinctions include both a tubular ectotympanic ear boneand eight, not twelve, premolars in catarrhines, giving them a dental formula of: For example, the colobus monkeys have stubs for thumbs to assist with their arboreal movement, the proboscis monkey has an extraordinary nose, while the snub-nosed monkeys have almost no nose at all.

The male mandrill's penis is red and the scrotum is lilac ; the face is also brightly colored. The coloration is more pronounced in dominant males. Leaf monkeys are the most vegetarian, subsisting primarily on leaves, and eating only a small number of insects, while the other species are highly opportunistic, primarily eating fruit, but also consuming almost any food items available, such as flowers, leaves, bulbs and rhizomesinsects, snails, and even small vertebrates.

Births are usually single, although, as with humans, twins occur from time to time. The young are born relatively well-developed, and are able to cling onto their mother's fur with their hands from birth. Compared with most other mammals, they take a long time to reach sexual maturity, with four to six years being typical of most species.

In most species, daughters remain with their mothers for life, so that the basic social group among Old World monkeys is a matrilineal troop. Males leave the group on reaching adolescence, and find a new troop to join. In many species, only a single adult male lives with each group, driving off all rivals, but others are more tolerant, establishing hierarchical relationships between dominant and subordinate males.

Group sizes are highly variable, even within species, depending on the availability of food and other resources.In primate: Snouts, muzzles, and noses most reliable means of distinguishing Old World monkeys from New World monkeys at a glance.

In New World monkeys (the Platyrrhini, meaning “flat nosed”), the nose is broad, and the nostrils are set wide apart, well separated by a broad septum, and point sideways. In the apes and Old World. The howler is the largest of the New World monkeys. Like the indris of Madagascar, they have developed the unusual habit of defending territory in the top branches of their forest canopies with vocalizations.

Old World Monkeys The Old World monkeys occupy a wide variety of environments in South and East Asia, the Middle East, Africa, and even Gibraltar at the southern tip of Spain.

Some species inhabit tropical forests, while others live on arid grasslands and . Primate Care Sheets - Old World vs New World Monkeys Below is an easy comparison table that will show you the major differences between old world monkeys and new world monkeys.

New World Monkeys. New World monkeys are the five families of primates that are found in the tropical regions of Central and South America and Mexico: Callitrichidae, Cebidae, Aotidae, Pitheciidae, and five families are ranked together as the Ceboidea, the only extant superfamily in the parvorder Platyrrhini.

Platyrrhini means flat-nosed, and their noses are flatter than those of other simians, with. New World monkeys are limited to tropical forest environments of southern Mexico, Central, and South America.

All of these monkeys are predominantly arboreal and mostly herbivorous. They eat leaves, fruits, nuts, gums, and occasional small prey such as insects.

Old World monkey | primate |